Bear Process Safety, AT&T win BRAC diversity award, Sickle Cell Association awarded national grant, BSW attorney elected to ABA division board

The Advocate

The Baton Rouge Area Chamber recently presented its annual Diversity Star Award to Bear Process Safety and AT&T.

Bear Process Safety, an industrial consultant, was honored in the small-business category for its dedication to recruiting, hiring and developing a diverse group of people in terms of gender, race, age, sexual orientation, culture and nationality. It was recognized for its purchasing practices, percentage of diverse employees in decision-making positions and commitment to community engagement with various organizations.

AT&T was honored in the large-business category. AT&T was selected for its diversity, equity and inclusion practices within the company and the community. Specific practices include its diverse leadership structure, recruitment strategies, employee-led resource groups and its dedication to community engagement such as installing fiber in north Baton Rouge, Baker and other underserved areas.

The Sickle Cell Association of South Louisiana was named a distinguished grantee of The GBT Foundation Access to Care Empowerment for Sickle Cell Grant Program.

The GBT Foundation will provide $50,000 to the Sickle Cell Association of South Louisiana. The Lafayette-based association plans to use the money for its KNEAUX Sickle Program, which provides resources for teens transitioning from pediatric to adult sickle cell disease healthcare providers.

The ACE Grant Program helps nonprofit community-based organizations improve access to care for people with sickle cell disease, which affects over 5,400 people in Louisiana.

Michaelle Wolfe Scelfo, of Wolfe-Scelfo Pharmacy Consulting Services in Metairie, was named Consulting Pharmacist of the Year by the Louisiana Pharmacists Association.

She has been a consulting pharmacist at multiple pharmacies in Metairie and the surrounding area since the early 2000s.

Scelfo is a longtime association member and has held multiple board positions, including president from 1997 to 1998. She is chair of peer review. This is the second time she has been named consulting pharmacist of the year; she earned the honor in 2010. She earned her bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from Northeast Louisiana University, now the University of Louisiana Monroe.

Seven new board members have been appointed to the New Orleans Regional Leadership Institute:

  • Melissa Bordelon, president and CEO of the Tangipahoa Chamber of Commerce
  • Joshua Denson, principal of Next Chapter
  • Maria Huete, administrator, fund development and community relations for Junior League of New Orleans
  • Ryan Kelley, director for LaPorte CPAs & Business Advisors
  • Fannie Marcotte-Bennett, director of client services for Digital Engineering & Imaging
  • Ryan Rodrigue, vice president of HUB International
  • John Wachter, financial adviser for Edward Jones

They are joined by returning members Ethan Ashley, R. Erich Caulfield, Barrett Conrad, Rebecca Cooley, Erin Cowser, Tiffany Davis, Josie Delaune, Elizabeth Ellison-Frost, Jeff Good, Nathan Landry, Chris LeBato, Kelli Peterson, Jennifer Messina, Kathleen Robert, Brandy Smith, Thea Wall, Larry Washington, Karl Weber, Theron Williams, Chandler LeBoeuf, Sonia Malhotra, Rachel Massey, Meaghan McCormack, Peggy Mendoza, Angela Morton, Rachel Nunez and Randy Smith.

Danielle L. Borel, a partner at Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson, was recently elected secretary of the American Bar Association Young Lawyers Division.

After serving as secretary in 2022 and chair-elect in 2023, she will assume chair of the division in August 2024.

The division has about 100,000 members and 300 affiliated groups, making it the largest young-lawyer organization in the world.

Borel practices in the areas of commercial litigation and health care litigation. Her practice includes litigation involving complex health care litigation; health care provider licensing and payment disputes; opioid litigation; trademark and copyright infringement; unfair trade practices and unfair competition; contract disputes; and commercial issues.

She serves as the chair of the Louisiana State Bar Association Young Lawyer Division.

Scroll to Top