BRAC disclosed 2018 Teacher Externship participants

BATON ROUGE, La. (LOCAL 33) (FOX 44) – The Baton Rouge Area Chamber looked through over 80 teacher, counselor and administrator applications finalizing a list of individuals who will participate in this year’s Teacher Externship program.

According to BRAC, the fourth annual Teacher Externship program “is intended to engage Capital Region teachers, counselors, and administrators in exploring career opportunities in STEM fields, specifically: construction crafts, manufacturing, healthcare, and the tech sector.”

Participants who were chosen by BRAC are listed below:

  • Kimberly Averitt, Iberville District
  • Deleon Awill, East Baton Rouge District
  • Lacey Barbera, Ascension District
  • Angela Boudreaux, Ascension District
  • Eric Brownfield, Ascension District
  • Ian Bryson, Central District
  • Allegra Butler, Iberville District
  • Pershauna Butler, West Baton Rouge District
  • Chantal Correll, Ascension District
  • John Didier, Central District
  •  Amanda Dorris, Iberville District
  •  Mark Dubreuil, Ascension District
  •  Hali Fletcher, Livingston District
  •  Lee Anne Gentry, Ascension District
  •  Karin Gill, West Baton Rouge District
  •  Heather Grantham, Ascension District
  •  Angel Harris, East Baton Rouge District
  • Terrie Hasten, Iberville District
  • Katie Heck, Iberville District
  • Lisa Kastner, Livingston District
  • Ranee Keller, Livingston District
  • Kimberley Key, West Feliciana District
  • Keith Larkin, Zachary District
  • Laci Lemoine, Central District
  • Christian Lopiparo, Ascension District
  • Melissa McCormick, Ascension District
  • Bess Melancon, Ascension District
  • Melba Moton, Ascension District
  • Jamie Munson, Central District
  • Stacy Myles, Ascension District
  • Michelle Ourso, Iberville District
  • Sharon Ourso, West Feliciana District
  • Gabbria Parker, East Baton Rouge District
  • Lynn Schmitt, Iberville District
  • Katherine Scott, West Baton Rouge District
  • Meagan Simmons, Livingston District
  • Jonathan Simmons, West Feliciana District
  • Jadon Smith, East Baton Rouge District
  • Matthew Stumpf, Livingston District
  • Courtney Sykora, Livingston District
  • Darline Taylor, East Baton Rouge District
  • Tanya Taylor, Iberville District
  • Rhondalyn White, Pointe Coupee District
  • Lisa Williams, Zachary District
  • Israel Wilson, East Feliciana District

BRAC said the cohort “will spend several days onsite at BRAC’s partner companies to shadow workers in the field, conduct skills assessments, and engage in day-to-day operations.”

According to BRAC, the goal of the program is for the 45 teachers who were chosen from 10 Louisiana districts to leave with an improved understanding of what is needed to be successful in the industry they were exposed to.

Scroll to Top