Higher Education Institutions

The Capital Region boasts nearly 50,000 students enrolled in higher education institutions forming a strong workforce pipeline for the area’s businesses.


LSU is the flagship university of Louisiana, located in Baton Rouge, supporting land, sea and space grant research. LSU is home to 29,272 students and offers more than 235 areas of undergraduate study, 73 master’s degree programs and 49 doctoral programs of study. Within LSU’s footprint, the LSU Agriculture Center provides research-based education information that helps improve the lives and economic well-being of Louisiana citizens.


RPCC is the community and technical college located in Gonzales and serves the southern portion of the Capital Area and much of the River Region. RPCC is strategically placed in the unique corridor where the majority of the state’s manufacturing facilities are located. Part of RPCC’s mission is to serve those industries through specialized training programs for potential employees, which would attract and help retain those industries in the area.


Southern University is a historically black university located in Baton Rouge. Southern has over 6,500 students and offers more than 57 programs of study. In 2001, the university created the Southern University Agricultural Research and Extension Center, with programs aimed to help small-scale and limited resource farmers and ranchers to develop and/or maintain viable farming options that are in harmony with the environment, help communities to build capacity to enhance the growth and development of the business and industrial sectors, and improve the quality of life for families and youth throughout Louisiana.


Located in the heart of Baton Rouge, BRCC is a cornerstone in career and technical education. BRCC offers a variety of pathways for careers in today’s high-tech, high-wage workforce or transferring to a four-year degree program to further education at an affordable cost. With a total enrollment of just over 9,000 students, BRCC offers smaller class sizes with access to high-tech facilities and state-of-the-art equipment. BRCC’s close partnership with local business and industry, ensure that programs offered are constantly evolving, so that all students will be ready to succeed after graduation.

DNP49 (1)

Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University (FranU) is is a small, Catholic, not-for-profit institution specializing in healthcare education. Over 1,200 students are enrolled and can earn degrees in nursing, health sciences, humanities, behavioral sciences and natural sciences. The university is sponsored by the Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady and is faithful to its mission grounded in Franciscan values. The university is a student-centered academic community committed to the pursuit of truth and common good and devoted to excellence in teaching and learning.

Scroll to Top